Pennsylvania Ride Share Lawyers | Uber and Lyft Claims In PA, NJ & Nationwide
logo
MENU

Ride Sharing Claims

Uber and Lyft – Pennsylvania ‘Ride Share’ Law and Motor Vehicle Accidents

You can you sue Uber or Lyft for your injuries when you are involved in a motor vehicle collision. You may have been injured while:

  • a passenger in an Uber/Lyft car
  • driving or riding in another motor vehicle hit by an Uber/Lyft car, or
  • a pedestrian, motorcyclist, or bicyclist hit by an Uber/Lyft car

In November 2016, Pennsylvania passed a bill to regulate ride-sharing companies such as Uber and Lyft. The ‘Ride share’ law sets insurance standards, inspection standards for drivers, and fee and licensing requirements for companies.

Ride share drivers must now carry insurance through a Transportation Network Company (TNC) which recognizes that they drive a “vehicle for hire” for Uber, Lyft or another TNC. The insurance coverage is in effect as soon as the app is turned on.

So, when does Ride Share Insurance for Uber and Lyft drivers and their vehicles cover you?  The answer depends on whether or not the Uber or Lyft vehicle has been “hailed.”

When drivers are logged into the network but not yet engaged in a prearranged ride – that is, while waiting for a ride request – they must carry:

A) Primary automobile liability insurance of at least:

  • $50,000 for death and injury per person
  • $100,000 death an injury per incident and
  • $25,000 for property damage

And,

B) First-party medical benefits of $5,000, including $25,000 for pedestrians and $5,000 for a driver.

While drivers are engaged in a prearranged ride – which begins once the ride is accepted by the driver on the app (before any passenger is picked up) and lasts until the last passenger is dropped off – they must carry:

A) Primary automobile liability insurance of at least $500,000 for death, bodily injury and property damage; and,

B) First-party medical benefits of $5,000 on a per-incident basis for incidents involving a TNC driver’s operation of a personal vehicle while engaged in a prearranged ride, including $25,000 for passengers and pedestrians and $5,000 for a driver.

If you are in an accident with an Uber or Lyft car, whether you are the driver, a passenger in the ride share car, or a pedestrian, it is important to understand how your injuries may be compensated. Call our ride sharing lawyers in Pennsylvania at 215-557-0099 or submit an online inquiry. Williams Cedar has two convenient office locations in Philadelphia and Haddonfield, New Jersey.